Quarters Hostels 31/10/16 – 3/11/16

img_3298

The Quarters Hostel caught my attention with its homely light beach wooden patterned furniture and floor interior, and coming at a low cost of $15.45 per night, inclusive of taxes (booked through hotels.com), for a bed in an 8 persons shared mixed dormitory, it was an instinctive no-brainer to hit the book button before I missed my chance. Located along Circular Road, it is a short walking distance away from the MRT stations of Farrer Park and Raffles Place, which to the latter I did not visit during the span of this trip.

Prior to my check in, I had the intention of purchasing a new headset; the two that I own myself had seen its last days. Under recommendations by my army mates, and of realizing the close proximity of the Quarters Hostel to tech malls like Funan (closed) and The Adelphi, I knew I could allocate some time within this stay in search of my audiophile needs.

img_3261

Alas, the shop that I had set my sights on was already in the process of closing business. I took a leisurely stroll downwards from the not too distant City Hall MRT down to Boat Quay, a destination not unfamiliar to some pretty urban vistas. I got to admit that it did establish a mood of anxious anticipation as I walked through segments laid with shophouses under the backdrop of brightly lit skyscrapers. It was the enticing prospect of living just meters away from the Singapore River, where many bars and restaurants cramp themselves into making home. Still, I was worried that the vicinity would be severely lacking in the lowly priced food department.

img_3265

How wrong I was! Straying just a few shops from the main road of South Bridge, Quarters Hostel is surrounded by a handful of coffee shops and eating houses. Being the little hunter myself (oh please) however, it wouldn’t be exciting to simply explore a small part of what was a large web of intriguing food destinations. I know, I was supposed to be on a budget, but hostel living sucks you into living the life you truly deserve, and the life that your wallet doesn’t.

img_3274

I was greeted by a staff named Edmond, who attended to the process my check in. Apparently, he ran into some logistical issues and it was awhile before he would tend to me again. I used the opportunity to spot for sockets in the already impressing lobby (shame on you, Mori) and to my delight, there were aplenty! The lobby was obviously one designed with the intention of being a comprehensive living space, and reflecting through an inquiry, the Quarters Hostel is the only hostel in Singapore I am aware of that permits non-paying guests in the lobby, meaning I could bring a friend in for a chat and chill without massively triggering the staff. Anyways, the lobby is a hot laptop zone!

img_3299

img_35581

Building on that point, I saw instant noodles being sold at hefty prices at the lobby. One could bluntly get more and cheaper ones at the very close 7-Eleven store which I had stumbled on the way here. Just my luck, the hostel didn’t seem to host a hot/cold water dispenser. Given the typically exorbitant prices of bottled water provided within, I would quickly settle down my belongings upon receiving my keycard and locker keys, and head out to explore my wondrous neighborhood!

img_3347

img_3373

Strangely, it seemed the Monday blues had tackled quite hard on the atmosphere, more than I thought it would. The bars were generally unoccupied comparing to older memories I had of previous explorations years ago. I found myself paying attention to some of the very compelling alleyways, to which my eyes were guided through walls chaotically yet beautifully patterned with numerous vents and ducts. I was prepared to face the sum of rowdy crowds, yet instead I gathered solace in what was an impromptu night walk.

img_3372

img_3437

Nonetheless I had the errand of searching for cheap water in the district, so I went hunting from one street to another before making a roundabout trip back to my hostel. It revealed just how many 7-Eleven stores were operating in such a short stretch. I counted at minimal 4; 4 stores that were, at their cheapest, selling each 1.5l bottle of water for an ungodly $2.40.

img_3367

Nope, not buying that!

img_3376

Oh… hello there.

img_3378

I came across another convenience store that sold a similarly sized bottle for $2, which is cheaper but was still unreasonable considering two such bottles could go for a dollar at a supermarket. At this point I was beyond frustrated that no cheaper options were available; I concluded that I had to be thick-skinned; it’s time to drink from the tap. Heading back, I grabbed my go to bottle of Vitasoy soy bean drink with milk from the nearest 7-Eleven from the hostel. While I am lactose intolerant, hence resorting to soy alternatives, I am also, guilty as charge, a fervent milk drinker. Not only does this product below satisfy me in both respects, and my sweet tooth, it does so at the cost of only 6 grams of sugar intake per serving while not seemingly containing any suspicious ingredients (I did some googling of the vitamins on the label).

img_3382

img_3388

Look what I’ve uncovered in the hostel. And I went through all that trouble for nothing! Somehow the water dispenser had tucked itself so tightly in the corner of the lobby that I would fail to notice it for the duration of my check in. Well, at least I’ve covered my hydration, and saved my ego. Without further ado, let’s do a walk through of my room, which also happened to be located on the ground floor and just into a door left of the lobby counter.

img_3302

img_3304

It was immediate as I stepped in that I’d grapple with the sense of linearity of the bunk room space, in comparison to the open and spacious lobby. That isn’t an attempt to downplay by any measure; in fact, I appreciated the contrast of spacial quality. The room felt just about right where each bed was carefully positioned to lean against a corner, leading to a cozy sleeping experience. The walking space was slightly narrow, granted that turned out mostly to be a nonissue (when the lights were on) as disruptive movement was kept to a minimum inside, with two plug sockets and a personal light (mine didn’t seem to work) allocated for each individual bed. I occupied the top of a bunk bed furthest from the lobby, with my locker conveniently placed right beside, so when lying on my bed, it was never necessary to lay a foot in order to reach my belongings in the cupboard.

img_3311

img_3306

Right across my bed was the only toilet in the room, and coming to a realization at that moment, there was only one toilet for the entire level. As I was not allocated a bed on the upper storeys, that meant for over the span of 3 days, I would almost be pitting myself against every third person for the usage of this one washroom. On a positive note, the toilet itself was fully serviceable. I thereafter followed through with my nightly routines, albeit occupying the shower for a little too long.

img_3349

It is not uncommon for hostel toilets to facilitate water heating systems that never seem to hit the right temperatures. In many scenarios, the heater swings the pendulum to the extremes, for it’s either too hot or too cold. In other attempts to adjust heat levels, I would also reduce the intensity of the water spray, only to find that it becomes a drizzle. Fortunately, in the Quarters Hostel such shower troubles were nonexistent. Beyond a baseline analysis of functionality, I also enjoyed watching steam from the heat densely misting up the bathroom air more than I’d like to admit.

img_3389

And there’s a rack to hang clothes! I haven’t had a decent one in a hostel toilet for quite awhile, so this was a nice change, even if it was just minimal. However, I would definitely appreciate this amenity even greater if I was someone travelling to Singapore or staying over for work nearby that requires the donning of formal wear, as clothes hanged in such a manner would most certainly benefit from the dense shower steam in the easing of any creases without ironing.

img_3361

img_3307

The rest is frankly not much to write home about. The toilet flush did appear to lack intensity, and perhaps the sink tap could do with a little maintenance as it had some flimsiness to its grip, but likewise all facilities were well functioning for the duration of my stay. A legitimate complaint would be of the toilet door itself, which created way too much noise in the bunk whenever I or anyone had to forcefully slide the door inwards or outwards.

img_3394

It’s the next morning and I missed the designated breakfast time! I had spent the last night making myself home in the lobby, tying myself to my laptop (to write about Mori Hostel, mind you) until just hours prior to breakfast before I snuggled myself into the embrace of comfy blankets and slept like a baby into the lunch hours. This day, I had a goal away from food: I was to get myself some headphones. Continuing from where I was the previous evening, I did a short detour back to The Adelphi.

img_3396

But who am I to kid. Of course, there’s no way to start a day like brunch! This was pretty much on the way to where I was headed anyways. Much like rest of the mall, the Coffee Hive did not boast much of a crowd even at peak hours, which is the way I like it. I ordered a Chicken Curry dish at $6.20, which could be served with either rice, noodles, or bread. On my end, I had a stubborn craving for anything curry and mee. Now looking back, it was a terrible temptation I had succumbed to as I accepted their underwhelming offer of instant noodles for what would otherwise be a hearty and affordable meal.

img_3397

img_3407

But let’s get back on track here. I was headed to a reputable store: Jaben. A model called “Marshall Major 2” was what I sought, but apart from sound quality, I had other aspects in mind, such as portability and durability in a set of headphones. Having had a brief but pleasant hands on experience with the Major 2 at the very same shop just minutes nearing its closure half a day ago, but with a quotation of $259 for its bluetooth set, it was clear that I would not be walking out with a Major 2.

img_3408

This afternoon a friendly lady at the counter directed me towards another model called the “Matrix 2”. She remarked on the model’s reputation for being quality for value, and some mobile research on the fly seemed to reiterate her points. However, I was unfairly comparing a model below the $200 mark with that of my broken Jabra Revo headphones, to which its retail price way exceeded my current budget, although I did do my old buy without its bluetooth functionality and at a significantly discounted price. While the Matrix 2 is far from terrible, I was irritably turned off by a background hissing no matter the soundtrack in play. After some contemplation and further directions from the counter lady (great service!), I concluded there was naught left for me here, and was en route to the second stop: Challenger.

img_3404

img_3403

The closure of Funan Mall, where I had obtained my Jabra headphones from, indicated that Raffles City would my next choice of destination. At Raffles City Challenger, I tinkered with a selected few such as the X-mini Evolve headphone. There was naught that went too awry, though neither was I particularly impressed. Judging the model for its relative bulkiness however, its potential proneness to damage was severe enough that I would redirect my attention to a more lightweight model: JBL E40. And it packed a clear punch in sound that I’d least expected! Still even in the audio department, the Jabra Revo was a polar opposite, excelling tremendously in the sphere of bass. I was to replace rather than to overhaul my listening experience, and given its plastic majority build, I did not have the confidence that the JBL E40 could meet my expectations in the long run.

img_3402

img_3400

Random atas toilet in Raffles City.

img_3410

…And my phone died. But look what I had fetched from the quest! I hopped on a short train ride to the notorious Sim Lim Square, where my search for a Jabra headset began, yet soon afterwards hopes were diminishing. Hung Brothers Electrical was my first stop, and to my disappointment they were not stocked with Jabra products. A male staff suggested I would have better luck on the upper floors, and so continued the chain of shops leading me from one to another. That chain would break when I finally chanced upon a shop whose staff set me back on a trail downwards into the open space ground level mobile atrium. Being suspicious of shops on the ground level, I had merely glanced past the facades prior while traveling upwards to the Hung Brothers. One half of myself was elated, yet another was in self deprecation over my overt dismissal of that big “Jabra” counter sign I found there begging for attention.

img_3412

It was the only model available, and back in the comfort of the Quarters Hostel, I had glimpsed upon an online description likening the Jabra Move to a Revo clone at half the price. Having no display models left for testing, I went on a whim, and here I’ll do a reflection of my purchase: I’m generally satisfied. Certainly far from perfect, it distinctly lacks noise isolation and the ability to fold its parts into a more compact form for portability. Unforgivable is in ergonomic concerns where my right earlobes would turn sore in less than half an hour. Fortunately, it’s a smaller and a lighter weight yet sturdy model, plus its very fashionable! It audibly leaves more bass to be desired, but once again I’m comparing two models of headphones under different price ranges.

Back in warmth (not really, see below for window panels fogging up on the exterior), I took the liberty to fix the various wireless bluetooth setups amongst my devices to pair with my latest gadget. I’ll not bore you with a step by step description of that process. Instead, let’s cover some of my other nitty gritty observations in the lobby.

img_3413

img_3445

I was seated where behind, a shelf was stacked with card games and a Jenga, as well as books for anyone’s reading pleasure. Now isn’t it tempting to sip a nice hot cup of coffee while at it into a storybook, seated on sofas laid next to foggy windows sheltering you from the rain? Nope, I was writing the Mori Hostel entry just for you guys!

img_3416

As with most hostel refrigerators, the one I had personally failed to abuse in the Quarters warned all guests as to the risks of not labeling their items inside. This was not the same refrigerator the staff would stock their breakfast beverages in; rather, an entirely separate fridge was dedicated to the storage of guest only items. Ironically, the several times I had glimpsed into the large chiller revealed within the guests had sparsely any belongings. This comes off to me a cruel joke (not at the Quarters) once recalling in past episodes where hostels would provide one miniature refrigerator that would be jammed and packed full between a combination of guests’ and hostel belongings.

img_3414

Fiddling away my time in the lobby, I also speculated a board with documents guiding guests towards popular destinations; a common hostel backdrop. This was not my focus; rather, the activity that did catch my interest would be of requests the staff would tend to, and one such would be directions. No doubt, all (decent) hostel staff would respond to questions relating to tourist hot spots and traps. From the perspective of a guest however, it had become exceeding common to overhear such requests. It might’ve been just that I was more alert to my surrounding happenings, yet overall it was more like having an insider’s perspective into the day by day routine of the hostel’s management. The lobby was the center where everything would occur, and I was quite literally right smack in the middle of it. Heck, I even watched Edmond consume his dinner on the table.

img_3418

Speaking of dinner…

img_3423

This was a coffee shop I had already set my eyes on the first night while finding the Quarters. Located just across the street, the BK Eating House is open 24 hours, to the convenience of one such as myself, and is host to a couple of stalls. I was taking interest in the mixed rice meal that Edmond was having, yet on prompting he vaguely mentioned the famous Dry Mee Sua just along the opposite side. As your reporter, I couldn’t possibly miss out on this enticing opportunity now, could I?

img_3424

img_3429

I ordered a Specialty Dry Mee Sua, and the food was served barely minutes past. For $4, I would say this was a treat! While it might not do much for a person who’s hungry to devour a truck, it suffices for a regular dinner portion. And the silky noodles were my absolute favorite, for mixed in that peculiar sauce, it emitted an identifiable sourness just nailing it! Being a sucker for spring onions, I adored how they were sliced and sprinkled generously across the main dish and a simple soup. Definitely a must try if you’re ever around Boat Quay.

img_3430

img_3433

The mood was back to how I would remember: a lively street. Observing a larger pedestrian base relative to the night before, I decided to take a second stroll down the into the streets, and this time I would attempt to recreate a somewhat more accurate photographic depiction of life at Boat Quay. Crowds swarmed at bars to which they were absent just Monday, and it had also made an impact towards the ambient sounds.

img_3438

img_3435

AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!

img_3442

I opted for a shorter route back to the hostel and cut through a totally unsuspicious alleyway (but honestly, I was the one following another guy), and below’s another angle of beauty, with a nice skyscraper backdrop to it!

img_3443

img_3446

We’re back, and I was finally done with my blogging for the day! Did I tell you I was an avid gamer? That’s not entirely true, but I do have my moments such as this night, where I would set up a gaming station sustaining itself almost into the sunrise. Lights and air conditioning would be turned down past counter hours, which is from 7:30am to 10:30pm. Nonetheless, temperatures were still reasonably adjusted, more so than the day even, for what I would consider my favorite time to be in the lobby.

img_3452

Wonder why I had overslept yesterday? Just look at those blankets! Not unlike my first morning… or afternoon, this double layered devil was coaxing me into round two of bypassing the morning. Fortunately, I shrugged the alluring offer and climbed my way out into my morning routine, preparing myself for the most important meal of the day: breakfast. On the palette was a colorful variety of jams to suit any taste buds.

img_3454

img_3473

By now, you might have realized that I am weak for chocolate. This time, I would indulge myself in a Nutella Hazelnut spread on 2 slices of toast, about to dipped into a bowl of dry chocolate cereal soaked in Marigold Full Cream milk. Speaking of milk, cartons of identically branded apple juice were also offered as an alternative to the dairy beverage. While the choice was appealing, such packaged fruit juices tend to be void of the nutritional value one would obtain via freshly blended juices. Between two perhaps undesirable options, I picked the one that would least likely be mere empty calories. Who eats their cereal with apple juice anyways?

img_3474

img_3476

Mesmerized was I to dine in the presence of some rather impressive photographs framed on walls up in front. Breakfast in the lobby was paired with a diverse collection of ordinary happenings, such as the washing of dishes, the flipping pages of newspaper and the loud chatters of the older Chinese staff. Upon reading, it might seem like an absolutely mundane mention, but indeed for one on the road, this caricature of the conventional family space would remind them dearly of home.

Lest I would allow such nostalgia to stop me in my tracks, I averted my thoughts towards research on my next destination: Ô Comptoir. Uniquely stationed at a split road between Lor Telok and Circular, this nearby French inspired pub and restaurant snatched me away with its unorthodox names of its reputed dishes, mainly “galettes” and “crepes”. Right now you might be as dumbfounded as I was at words I couldn’t even begin to pronounce, but don’t worry, we’ll take a peek at what these two delicacies encompass as I burn my wallet.

img_3483

Avoiding the lunch hour crowd, it was 2:30pm when I arrived to my delight that the lunch deals were still in effect, meaning that hole in my pocket would at least be under control. Under the Set A lunch deal, I would be applicable to select any “Classic Galette” in the menu for a quality $13 (exclusive of GST and service charge) and for a free salad. It was my initial plan to settle my lunch on just that budget, hence I would overlook the segment of “Inspiration Galette” and I apologize in advance. But we’re starting slow here, and you’ll have something new to look forward to should you visit.

img_3485

A separate beverage menu was on the table. Luck is not on your side; I don’t proactively consume alcohol, so it’ll have to do without a review there. Anyways, while we wait for the food, say cheese!

img_3484

img_3487

A galette is basically a pancake filled with savory goodness. Visually, the “Ménage à 5” was arranged in accordance to the summary, although that said summary did no aid to predict how the dish would taste as I laid my first bite into a clean chunk of pancake. To my surprise, it left a captivating smokey taste, a remarkable twist from that degree of sweetness I would otherwise expect. In its filling was cheese, mushroom, tomato and most notably, ham and egg, where miracles of broken yolk and ham swirling together with its smokey companion granted a spectacular extravaganza in my mouth. For a galette virgin, it left me craving for more and feeling posh.

img_3488

img_3494

And what’s this? It’s a crepe, a wheat flour pancake topped with sweet things of choice. When I was asked to try their next signature, who was I to refuse…? A customer with rights, of course, but boy was I so enthralled that my budget had became an afterthought. I ordered an “Old Style” for $5 (exclusive of GST and service charge), which was topped with butter and sugar, and served with a pair of lemon slices. Besides its filling capacity, the combination of zesty lemon juice over that buttery texture and sugar induced crunchiness brought myself into a roundabout conclusion for what was to be a memory imprinting dining experience.

img_3499

img_3472

Leaving paradise behind, my sleep debt had begun to pile up beyond the possibility of concealment. On the hostel kitchen cabinet was a poster notifying guests of a “one per day” free coffee policy. Unfortunately, the lady staff had me informed that it would only apply within breakfast hours. In an apparent good faith, she handed me a 3 in 1 mix coffee pack, permitting me adequate vitality to pursue my subsequent goals for the evening.

img_3501

img_3502

I was to be out for dinner with a friend. Having some spare time in hand, I attempted to further rejuvenate in the lobby. An outgoing lady guest sharing my table had begun conversation with another young guest who had a laptop gaming session going on for himself. Paying little mind at first, it soon piqued my interest when topics such as politics and travel were dived into; again had my sentiments echoed regarding the socially conducive nature of this lobby.

img_3509

Not too long later, I witnessed a checked out guest requesting for entry into a toilet at the counter. In response, the lady staff tapped her personal keycard on the right door sensor, permitting the guest an entry into the upper floors. I was then curious, for if a checked out guest was allowed into the stairway, surely I could gain entry into the higher levels myself? My suspicions proved true; in fact, the staff would notify that the issued keycard in my possession had all along been authorized for use at the scanner, hence no special permissions need be granted in that respect. A realization had struck: I (and everyone) was never subjected to the constricted use of only one ground floor toilet. It went without saying I felt like an utter fool.

img_3510

Journeying upwards was actually fascinating, and not only for its maze like interior qualities. I was genuinely shocked by the number of rooms visible just along the corridors of both upper storeys, and for two reasons. Firstly, it meant that a much larger number of guests were inhabiting the Quarters Hostel than I’d once assumed. It’s almost a mystery as to how such a small lobby could ever lodge that huge a density of guests without ever becoming dense. Second, how on earth did they fit so many rooms into such a small area?

img_3512

img_3514

Allow me to mourn with this last interior snap before I head out…

img_3511

img_3516

… To a Ramen Matsuri hang out! Between this and the Famous Song Fa Bak Kut Teh across Clarke Quay Central, I was put off from the latter’s large crowds and emitting odor that I wasn’t too keen on. Located along North Canal Road, Ramen Matsuri would be one in a series of Ramen restaurants I’d patronize over the recent weeks.

img_3519

My friend was not in the utmost of health. Under the influence of a persistent flu and fever spanning at least a past day or two, he was seeking a light and regenerating dinner. On the menu the “Signature Rich Chicken Broth Ramen with Egg” seemed to fit that criteria, yet he would fail to complete his bowl, struggling against what he describes as a pronounced saltiness in the broth. I was first to have a sip, and contrary to his opinion, I much enjoyed its hearty aroma together with a bite of char siu, enough so as to offer to slurp the remainder afterwards.

img_3518

It might’ve been better for the both of us if we had swapped our bowls, for “Mazesoba Nagoya Style” was a cheaper and dry alternative I would relish less so to that prior sip. That’s not to dismiss it, but rather to credit the earlier’s appetizing broth. My favorite spring onions were a recurrence here, and stirred in with minced pork, seaweed and a soft boiled egg, every lift of noodles would be covered with a combination of that mixture, ending with a satisfying swallow. Sharing a side of “Pan Fried Dumplings”, we spent a total of $42.70 (inclusive of GST and service charge); an equitable price.

img_3520

img_3540

We spent our time past into late hours, and no, I’m not sharing anymore details other than that we conveniently sat ourselves along the edge of the Singapore River to enjoy the scenery and live music. Back in my pitch black room (everyone was asleep), I tumbled across the many tactlessly positioned luggage bags across the tight alley-like distance, reaching the rear end with my limbs intact.

img_3541

This was to be my last night of stay in the Quarters Hostel. Decidedly, I dawdled in the toilet, from lackadaisically extending my shower time to brushing and flossing my teeth at my own gradual pace. Unshackling the door lock, I was greeted by three Caucasian ladies who had been patiently waiting for me to finish the whole time. Embarrassed was I by my heedlessness, I hastily went about my own business thereafter. On the other hand, I would watch as they took turns to share that one toilet, where there’d be more than enough for all upstairs… Giggles.

img_3544

Losing myself to the devil (damn your snuggles, blankets!), I arose to the voice of a bedside Edmond reminding me of the 12pm check out deadline. Now to think of it, isn’t it sweet to have your personal human alarm to keep you from oversleeping? Anyways, it was a late 11am by then, and I would rush myself to meet the mark punctually.

img_3545

Made it!

img_35471

Naturally, lunch… or brunch would be my first meal of the day. Like yesterday, I would wait out the working crowd (I would be grossly underdressed by comparison anyways) while commence writing of this entry in the lobby, but I was running on an empty stomach. Aggravating my hunger were two additional hostel staff whose sole purpose never went beyond torturing me with their chewing and munching on those plates of mixed rice! It was god playing all the right (wrong!) cards as crowds did not begin to dwindle until late 3pm.

img_35521

img_3571

Lacking energy, I humbled my sights within the visible scope: 109 Teochew Yong Tau Foo. You’d think a self proclaimed foodie like myself would be well versed in my local variety? Well then, you’re wrong! Walking into the shop and clueless, it was clear as day I was in need of guidance. The staff directed me in Mandarin towards the panel in the photo below to choose my ingredients. I’m bad at Mandarin.

img_3561

img_3562

Now that I’ve gotten the ingredients into the bowl, and all that’s left was to select my noodles. I shall not bother with naming the choices (because I can’t), except that I picked the yellow and white ones. Yes, the one white one, farthest to the right below. Oh, and the man at the counter asked if I wanted it this way or that… I don’t know, I just gave in and went with the flow.

img_3566

img_3564

And then there was magic. Given I was not able to find this store on google maps, I would have never thought to spend my cash here. How fortunate did circumstances play out, as this is the best yong tau foo I have ever eaten! Coated in a reddish orange sort of dressing, the slippery noodles were a great complement to ingredients whose accentuated flavors blew my mind. The lettuce retained firmness in the soup, while spring onions (yes!) were sprinkled within. For some added context regarding my exaggerating reaction, yong tau foo was a food that I grew up comprehending as a healthier alternative. This also led me to stereotyping the dish as ultimately tasteless. 109 begged to differ, and for anyone who dislikes yong tau foo unconditionally, give this $7.20 option a second chance!

Excitement got the better of me. I was shifting from angle to angle (for how would I capture nice photos for you?) in 109, and it was probably a good five minutes before I noticed my hands were a little too unencumbered. Finally, it had came to me that I wasn’t holding on to my wallet. I got lucky; the wallet was still resting on the trays front of the counter. This exemplifies my unwavering dedication to quality work on the neighborhood hostel hopping blog, so give me a cookie for that, will you?

img_3572

And of course, all my vigor during my last hours back in the hostel was fully drained on this entry. Fast forward into after dinner hours (because I’m hardworking), I was famished again. I had been people watching in my afternoons these past three days, and many would flock to a store just left of the Quarters. Perhaps it was time to figure that puzzle out. Maybe it’s time for some Nasi Pandang!

img_3573

img_3574

I lost track of the pricing, although it was somewhere between $7 to $9 for one meat and two vegetable dishes. I chose the beef rendang to be accompanied with some tapioca leaves and french beans. A well balanced meal, I had little difficulty gobbling through what appeared to be layers of spicy chunks, and I don’t have a high tolerance for hot spices myself. Beef rendang is a contentious dish to anyone who’s had it long enough in the local army to vomit at the sight of it. The Sinar Pagi Nasi Pandang is a potential remedy for that.

img_3477

And it’s that time of the entry to say goodbye and remember the happy memories. Due to personal booking arrangements, it was not possible for me to extend my stay, but believe me that I would if I could have it otherwise, for my reluctance to leave was a result of that desire. Hopefully, this entry does justice to the establishment for what would be one of my most pleasurable hostel experiences. The check in timing is between 3pm-10:30pm.

map

Quarters Hostel
12 Circular Road

Singapore 049368

The Adelphi/Coffee Hive/Jaben

Raffles City Challenger
252 North Bridge Road #03-22/23
Singapore 179103

Sim Lim Square
1 Rochor Canal Road
Singapore 188504

BK Eating House
32 South Bridge Road
Singapore 058667

Ô Comptoir
79 Circular Road
Singapore 049433

Ramen Matsuri
7 North Canal Road
Singapore 048820

109 Teochew Yong Tau Foo
90 Circular Road
Singapore 049441

Sinar Pagi Nasi Pandang
13 Circular Road
Singapore 049369

Leave a Reply

